Deck of the Week: UW Eldrazi 21/03/2016 (Modern)

Decklist.

This deck was both powerful and flexible, almost absurdly so. After PT OGW, it only took a few days for the UW Eldrazi list to catch on. I was on Living End at the time, which did pretty well against colourless Eldrazi variants, but once more and more people switched to UW with countermagic and Rest in Peace, that didn’t cut it anymore.

I just went with the best deck, which oftentimes is a good idea, especially for League play. And the deck did not disappoint at all; i only started losing matches when Eldrazi Tron caught on, which was probably not as well-rounded as UW, but was certainly ahead in the Eldrazi mirror.

When i played Eldrazi & Taxes in Legacy last, it almost felt like playing UW again and i wonder why it took me so long to try it out. (I’m sure that has nothing to do with the fact that i’ve historically been very stubborn about always playing Brainstorm in Legacy.)

Eldrazi Displacer is one of my favourite cards to play with and i’ve had some pretty sweet scenarios with the card, like flickering Thought-Knot Seer to deck my opponents or flickering Drowner of Hope to still have access to colourless Mana under Blood Moon and be able to cast spells. My favourite game with the deck was one i won by casting Dismember on my own Thought-Knot Seer to make my Lantern opponent draw a card, then cast Endless One for X=1 with Eye of Ugin in play and swing for exactly lethal with my  1/1 Eldrazi Mimic. Not an impressive play by any means, but still a great show of how flexible UW Eldrazi was.

As for the list itself, there is not much to say. I’m fairly sure i changed about two cards from the list i initially copied (of Gerry Thompson, i think?) and the deck just worked. I might have more League 5-0s with UW Eldrazi than i have with Legacy Storm.

Leave a comment